How I eat and move on a typical day

I received this special e-mail request from a reader.

They wanted to see my typical menu (breakfast, lunch, dinner) and if I ever fast, or when. Of course, I’m happy to oblige.

Keep in mind, this routine is what I’ve customized for my own goals, which is to lose a few body-fat percentage points, and put on some lean mass.

Every day I wake up and eat nothing until noon roughly. I typically make my way to work early in the morning, grabbing coffee on the way. I’ll have plenty of water too. Not sure why, but it helps me wake up when I have plenty of ice cold water.

Usually around noon I start to get a bit hungry.

Most often if the weather allows, I’ll use my lunch hour to take a leisurely stroll around my beautiful downtown area, and more than likely grab another coffee (I really like coffee). My walk also allows me to get some much needed sunshine.

After my walk I make sure I have enough time to heat up my first meal, which I usually prepared the night before. (Leftovers are my best friend).

Today I ate 2 half racks (not entirely half racks, they weren’t that big really) of grass-fed spare ribs that I cooked up last night. They were dry rubbed with cajun seasoning, wrapped in foil, and cooked in the oven for 2 hours roughly. I paired this with some microwaved summer squash and butter, and finished with some grass-fed full-fat yogurt. Oh yah, and a baby spinach salad with dried cranberries and walnuts, too. I also had a small piece of 85% dark chocolate today.

Fish is always an option if I cooked it for dinner the previous night. I’m also partial to sardines and other canned fishes.

So far today (as of 4pm) I haven’t eaten anything else.

If this were a rest day, I would fast until dinner, which is uaually around 7pm.

But since I’m working out today, I’m actually going to go eat something in a few minutes. I have a grass-fed burger patty waiting for me, and another cup of grass-fed yogurt. That should do just fine.

I’m going to hit the gym at about 6pm

I will lift heavy and hard for about 30 – 45 minutes. I’m lifting to failure, and I’m doing a lower rep routine right now for fat loss and muscle gains. Check out the “tools” section of the site (under “references”) for the workout-logs I’m using.

After the gym I have a protein shake. Once I get home, I have 2 veal rib chops I want to grill up. They have been marinating in olive oil and spices for 2 days. I’ll probably also bake up some spicy spiced french fries in olive oil. Those are one of my favorite post-workout dinner side dishes. I’ll make some steamed broccoli too. Boy this is making me hungry!

I always make sure to get at least 8 hours of sleep per night. It’s the best way to manage stress and let your body heal itself after a brutal lifting session.

On rest weekdays, I usually only eat twice.

Since I don’t go to the gym on these days, I don’t get as hungry. So I eat my first meal at noon or 1pm, then again around 7pm. These are good size meals that keep me from getting hungry most of the day.

Last week I had a bunch of grass-fed liver cooked up. I’ll tell you what, that is one of the most sating meals you will ever eat. I was not hungry and didn’t even think about food all day, and almost forgot to eat dinner! That’s after eating 6 ounces of liver roughly.

On weekends I usually sleep in

I’ll wake up around 1 or 2, and eat a bunch of pastured eggs and bacon, and sometimes include macadamia nuts. If I have oranges or apples, I’ll have one of those, too. We get this really awesome thick cut local patured bacon. It’s literally at least 1/4″ thick, and cooks up real nice! Later in the day I’ll have whatever leftovers are kicking around, and make sure I get plenty of veggies.

Most Sundays I wake up, drink some water and coffee, then go to the gym and do some high intensity interval training. This really gets you worn out. So I come home and nap. Once I wake up I eat. Usually leftovers, or eggs and bacon if nothing else is around. I’ll usually include a protien shake with some berries blended in. It’s super tasty!

I don’t supplement for vitamins. The only thing I regularly use for that purpose is Green Pasture butter oil capsules, and that’s only because i don’t always have liver cooked up. The best part about eating Paleo is you should never need to supplement for health reasons. As long as you are eating lots of healthy animals, and veggies too, you should be getting all the nutrients you need.

So there you go, my typical daily diet and fasting routine.

Right now my schedule has me lifting weights every monday-wednesday-friday, and doing HIIT on Sundays. All other days are rest days. I make sure to walk and stay active on all days, because being sedentary is just bad news. I keep myself busy with projects, like woking on my car, playing in a band, or just enjoying the outdoors.

As you can see, my fasts usually last from dinner (8pm) to my first meal (noon). That’s at least a 16 hour fast every day. Keeping a range between 14 and 16 hours is good. IF has a lot of health benefits, so it’s good to do it every once in a while.

Fasting is not for everyone. If you are really overweight or you have metabolic issues, it may be best to just keep the carbs low for a while, and wait until your body resets itself. For healthy individuals, fasting is a very powerful tool for losing stubborn fat, increasing health and longevity, and basically feeling great!

Keep it caveman!

~Dan

Tell me what you think

